loading
Academic Resource Network for Engineering and ICT Australia

Addressing ICT curriculum recommendations from surveys of academics, workplace graduates and employers

Start: 2009
Report Publication Date: N/A
Primary Project Leader Philip Ogunbona

Funding
Amount: $215,000.00 Body: Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Source: Priority Projects
Websites
Summary
The project will address four main areas: (1) poor and erroneous perceptions of ICT and the ICT profession; (2) lack of understanding by students, including perception of, and attitudes towards, ICT; motivation in choosing to study ICT (or not); poor enrolment of women; lack of participation and attendance in class in some cases; and relatively high attrition; (3) lack of industry involvement in the design and implementation of the curriculum and greater experience by students of industry, i.e. work integrated learning; and (4) understanding the nexus between teaching-research-industry-learning in ICT which has profound implications for the curriculum and what students and other participants do.
Outcome
Keywords
Learner › Gender
Discipline Context › ICT
Learner › Learner Characteristics
Learning Experience › Other Learning Experience
Student Level › Undergraduate
TR(IL) Nexus (Teaching Research › Work Integrated Learning (WIL)
Disciplines
  • ICT
Education Levels
  • Higher Education
  • Professional Development
Project Members
Jocelyn Armarego
j.armarego@murdoch.edu.au
08 9360 7351
Team Member
Paul Bailes
paul@itee.uq.edu.au
07 3365 3869
Team Member
Tony Koppi
tkoppi@gmail.com
0410 427 543
Team Member
Tanya McGill
T.Mcgill@murdoch.edu.au
08 9360 2798
Team Member
Golshah Naghdy
golshah@elec.uow.edu.au
02 4221 3411
Team Member
Philip Ogunbona
philipo@uow.edu.au
02 4221 3843
Project Leader

aced logo

Contacts

Associate Deans & Educational Leaders in Engineering

Program Leaders in Engineering

ACDICT logo

Contacts

Associate Deans Learning & Teaching in ICT

Program Leaders in ICT

Postal Address

Australian Computer Society
[ARNEIA]
P.O. Box Q534
QVB
Sydney 1230
NSW

Email

info@ARNEIA.edu.au